BlackRockObservatory_Day1

Black Rock Observatory – Dreams come true, even for me.

 

BlackRockObservatory_Day1

My life changed recently. I’ve always felt like an outsider. Today, its clear to me that I have an unbelievable network of friends, accomplices and cohorts that support me. My friends, my family, my community and the world has reached out and given me an enormous hug. It feels really, really amazing. I have to rearrange my thoughts about myself and the world. For those who don’t know, I’ve dreamed of building an observatory for years.

I moved to California in 1998 because photographs from Mars Pathfinder sparked something in me. I was inspired again by what was possible when people get together to achieve a common goal. My love for all thing astronomy was rekindled and I set about on a journey that I’m still on. The echo of seeing Saturn through a real telescope in 94 kept reverberating through my head. I’ve been trying to reconcile my love for art with my love for science and my meager skills at both ever since, but I think I’m finally on to something.

I found a group of people who inspire me everyday. I had this idea in 2012 after my first trip to Burning Man, but I lacked the network to get the job done, so it never happened. Then, I met a group of artists and science types who were building a 1.5X replica of the Mars Curiosity Rover and I thought “if only I could convince these folks to build an observatory!”

Last week, my Kickstarter project funded thanks to the help of over 450 backers and now I get to live my dream and build an observatory in my favorite city in the world. I finally get to give a little something back to the community that has given and taught me so much. I’m so grateful. Thank you to all of you for your support and your contributions. We’re going to make the world just a little more exciting, thanks to you. From the bottom of my heart and from all of us at Black Rock Observatory, thank you! 

To a lot of people, I’ll be Major Tom forever and I’m just over the Moon about that. I hope I can share some of that wonder and inspiration I got from Saturn and Mars all those years ago. I promise you, I’ll post a ton of photos of our first mission when we return to Earth.

Please stop by and donate to my Kickstarter here: http://kck.st/1q79SUW

Visit our website here: http://blackrockobservatory.com

Or Like us on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/BlackRockObservatory

 

THANK YOU Kickstarter Master 02

StarTrails02Web10378077_725732027476668_4136652681547996776_n

 

Leave a Reply

