Los Angeles and my 50mm

Olvera Street in Los Angeles  is a sight to see and a marvel of color and texture. People and cars run about and kitchens boil next to carts of wares. Its one part roadside attraction in the city, one part true Mexican identity or culture and one part commerce.

A great way to get quality images for cheap is to acquire a 50mm lens. If you’re a Canon or Nikon shooter you have a number of choices. In a strange vortex where price doesn’t always reflect quality, the 50mm 1.8 lens costs $100 for (both brands) and it’ll blow the socks of most of your zooms for image quality.

Spare another few hundred and you can get the 1.4. I’ve been shooting with this thing for 8 months now and I love it to death. Sure a perfect portrait may need a little more compression than 50mm can give you, even on a crop camera, but this thing rules for low light, shallow depth of field and it really delivers intimate portraits. I am so completely head over heels for this lens, the 50mm 1.2 seems reasonable now.  This collection of photos is from my first session with the lens, exploring one of those million tiny places in Los Angeles that is its own universe.

2 thoughts on “Los Angeles and my 50mm

  1. Are you using a camera with the larger sensor so that your 50 is a true “normal” lens, or are these equivalent to about 75mm? Just curious. I’m hoping my next Nikon will have the full size sensors so that my 50 is truly a “normal” lens.
    Either way, you’ve got some great shots here.

    1. I’m shooting with a Canon 7D, which has a crop factor of 1.6, making my lens behave like an 80mm. Thanks a million for the compliment and checking out my blog. I’m looking forward to going to full frame myself in the next year or so hopefully.

Leave a Reply

