My 1st time lapse of the new year

After years of manually acquiring time lapse movies, I finally bought an intervalometer. I’ll never make money using it most likely, but its a purely fun purchase that I made when I finally found an alternative to the pricey Canon TC-80N3, which can go for $150. So far, the cheap Chinese version I found on Amazon is holding up. It seems to work perfectly thus far and my only complaint was outlined on Amazon in the review over and over: to turn the unit off, you must remove the batteries. I knew what I was getting into and for the price I’d be stupid not to try it.  The trade off: I get sit in the warm car while my 7D time laspes in the sub-freezing wind outside. You can’t argue with that for less than $20. I shot the video above just a few days ago and a, quite happy with the results. Thanks to Synthecircuit and No Exit Records for the sound track. All I did was drop the song in and it fit perfectly with no editing whatsoever. Fortuitous.

2 thoughts on “My 1st time lapse of the new year

  1. Hi Tom,
    Nice time lapse, I’m new to it as you will see if you look at my first attempts here:

    Orion Rising

    Like you I went for the cheap intervalometer and find it really good especially for the price. You’ve given me plenty of ideas as you have both camera movement and music which is much better than mine, I need to find some free music! My daughters bought me premiere elements for Christmas so I guess I need to get my head round that. I’v also just enjoyed looking at your 2010 top 10, you have some good stuff there particularly the observatory, I’m very envious, not just of your clear skies (I’m from the UK, grey sky capital of the world) but also your Jupiter shot. I managed a poor attempt with my 70-300 @300mm so you could just see the moons. Keep up the good work, I’ll bookmark your blog and keep checking back. I’ve just started looking at a blog myself, intending to download the Word Press software tonight and get on a steep learning curve.
    All the best for 2011.
    Cheers,
    Phil Walker.

    1. Phil, cheers back at you and thanks for digging into the blog. That Jupiter shot was taken through the telescope feature in my Top Ten. It was the largest telescope in the world at the turn of the century. It is an amazing privilege to be able to use it. Truly breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

